No longer a surgery virgin.

31 May

Today, I had Lithotripsy to breakup a kidney stone in my left kidney. The stone decided not to cooperate. It proved to be a very dense stone requiring turning the lithotriptor up to 11, with the end result that Instead of shattering into millions of sand sized particles it broke apart into several smaller stones that I will need to pass.  Hopefully, they will be small enough to  pass without too much difficulty (i.e., unbearble pain).  At the hospital this afternoon, I did have a very short bout with a stone or a blood clot that fell into this category which required my beloved Toradol.  Since it was injected, it worked almost instantly and "saved" me from the shot of morphine the nurse was about to administer (They dumped the morphine done the sink instead!). Unfortunately, the hospital and my Urologist's approach to pain management was to give me some Lortab and tell me to go to the ER if it is insufficent to mange the pain (It's the weekend after all!). I wish they'd just given me a perscription for the Toradol as a percaution since it made passing my stone two years ago entirely mangeable and nearly pain-free.

Oh, and as my first-time in the OR I have to say that Lithotripsy is a pretty wussy surgery.  Every nurse and doctor asked me what procedure I was having as a safety thing (didn't want to go in for Lithotripsy and have then take off my leg!) and I wanted to say something cool like a Craniotomy.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “No longer a surgery virgin.”

  1. Rosemead Herald May 31, 2008 at 5:32 am #

    Interesting

  2. Nils June 4, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    Like a surgeon, cutting for the very first time. Like a suuurr-urr-urrgeon. Here's a waiver for you to siiiiiiign

Leave a Reply

